Kramer’s Blog

Random thoughts from an over-thinker…

It only matters if you care… August 12, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — justkramer @ 9:48 pm

It only matters if you care. That’s one thing I repeat to myself when I get angry, frustrated or even if I just let someones behavior bother me. Typically, I don’t care what other people do unless it directly affects me in some way….but that’s not always as easy as it sounds. A friend of mine told me tonight that she was really irritated with some girl that was making some passive aggressive remarks and sending them in her direction, so to speak. She was saying how she doesn’t even know this girl very well, but for some reason she’s got a problem with her and she gives her attitude. Now, if you’re a guy and you’re reading this you’re probably like…”huh?”. Guys don’t really do shit like that, just lame girls. And by “lame”, I’ll include myself because EVERY GIRL has been lame a few times in her life. It’s in our DNA to let our emotions take control every once in a while and we don’t use the best judgement.  Guys are just lame in different ways. They don’t gossip or make passive aggressive comments, they just call each other dicks and go their separate ways. But like I said, it only matters if you CARE. In order for someone to affect your emotions in ANY way, you have to care about them or what they think on some level. My advice to girls that are the victim of gossip or that caddy, passive-aggressive style of shit talk….don’t CARE. If it doesn’t affect you then their efforts are in vain.

This got me to thinking at what point should you care? There will be people throughout all of our lives that like us, dislike us, don’t give a crap about us and some of them will feel the need to let you know exactly how they feel. Not everyone is ALWAYS going to agree with you and I’m learning that fact more and more every day and I’m OK with that. Except if you don’t agree that In-N-Out is the best burger ever, then we’ve got issues. Or if you don’t agree that “Into The Mystic” is the greatest song ever, we will fight. But feel free to disagree with me about things that don’t matter, like politics, religion, and the theory of evolution. The world would be a very boring place if we were all the same and had the same thoughts and opinions. I’m a firm believer that Grease 2 is far superior to the original Grease and I’m happy to debate with you about it to prove that I’m right, but I’m not going to hate you for not being as smart as me.  I’m much more mature than that. 🙂 

What do you get judged for that drives you nuts? Maybe you make a crap load of money and people treat you different because you’re “rich”. Or maybe they talk shit about you because they’re jealous of your wealth. Maybe you’re exceptionally smart so people give you a hard time because they’re intimidated by you. Maybe it’s as simple as being married. Do your single friends stop inviting you places because you’re married or because you have kids? That’s messed up, huh. Or maybe you’re single and your married friends exclude you because you don’t fit into their “couples” activities or because you don’t have kids. Bummer. We’re all under microscopes for different things and it’s unfortunate.

I try to look at every situation through the other person’s eyes. Imagine how they might have a different perspective than me, even if I’m wrong it will serve me well. You’ve got nothing to lose by opening your mind, even if you don’t happen to gain anything, you don’t LOSE anything. Don’t worry about what other people are doing wrong or what you think is wrong with them, worry about how to make yourself better and you’ll always come out ahead. This had been your Daily Affirmation by Stuart Smalley. Repeat after me…”I’m good enough, I’m smart enough, and…..” never mind. I was going to apologize for my motivational, preachy blog, but screw that. I’m always right and if you don’t agree with me you’re probably just stupid. But don’t get mad, it only matters if you care what I think. *wink*

 

5 Responses to “It only matters if you care…”

  1. Hilary Says:

    I wish more people had this philosophy. A lot of the time it is easier said than done, but if the effort is there, at least there is a chance of self preservation. All too often, people’s lives are based on other people, not on themselves. Great post!!!

    I have never commented on your blog. I kinda feel like a creepster because I found you through Mercedes’ Twitter. Although, you are highly entertaining and I keep coming back!

  2. justkramer Says:

    Thanks for the kind words, Hilary! You’re definitely not a creepster! Mercedes is one of my greatest friends and if you haven’t already, you should read her blog, too. It’s on http://www.mix941.fm.
    PS. – I love blog comments, so THANKS!

  3. Jones Says:

    How would you describe yourself as a child? Were you happy?

  4. Kevin Says:

    Great post! Thank you for your perspective. Very refreshing. I like your take on it. I think I’ll share this with my wife. She’s one of those women who hates Valentine’s day….mainly because its just three days before her birthday so she’s had to share the holiday.


Leave a Reply

