Kramer’s Blog

Random thoughts from an over-thinker…

Word to your moms… May 26, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — justkramer @ 10:29 pm

Today was a good day. The first thing that runs through my mind as I say that is the Ice Cube song…”Just woke up in the mornin, gotta thank God…I don’t know but today seems kinda odd…”. However, I didn’t think that when I woke up. The first thing I thought was “why won’t my eyes open?”. My eyelids literally felt like they were stuck together and I had to use my hands to rub my eyes open like a fricken toddler. It really felt like they were suctioned together and I have no idea why. But that’s irrelevant. My point is, I didn’t expect anything out of the ordinary today. I didn’t expect to blog and I’ll just warn you now that this blog is exceptionally ordinary. Not so much funny or interesting, just a story of my average day. Continue reading at your own risk…..

So as I’m driving to work I notice that a McDonald’s that I drive by every single day is all boarded up and shut down. Now THAT is something I’ve never seen. McDonald’s is supposed to be recession proof above all else. I mean, they have a dollar menu. I could literally eat for an entire week on about $12 at McDonald’s, so it really surprised me that even McDonald’s is experiencing the perils of this economy. So I just drove 3 blocks down the road to the next McDonald’s for my breakfast. I’ve really been eating like CRAP lately and I’m disappointed in myself. I’ve been completely lacking in will power and discipline. But I’ve also been pretty happy lately and when I’m extraordinarily happy I give myself all kinds of leniency. When I’m just average happy I am a little more focused and disciplined. And when I’m sad I deprive myself of anything that could possibly take away my sadness. I really make no sense at all. So I ate my hashbrown and got to work a few minutes late due to the detour but, ehhh, no big deal.

My day proceeded to be pretty average. It was highlighted with some good news from my Realtor, partaking in some ice cream cake at work for a co-workers birthday and some amusing conversation with an old friend. I packed up my things at 5:30 and headed out the door for home, but not before I stopped to say hi/bye to some of my coworkers that work in the opposite end of the office. Are you bored yet? I hope so because if you find this entertaining then you really need to get out more. But this is when my day got great, awesome, extraordinary. My phone rang as I was leaving the studio and it was my mama. I answer to her saying she had some news for me….”I got a job…a GOOD job!!”. I was so excited I didn’t even know what to say. She proceeded to tell me the story….she got an interview 6 weeks ago and followed up consistently but didn’t get an offer. She’s been on so many interviews over the past few months that it’s just really been frustrating for her. If you’ve been reading my blogs for a while you may have read that my mom got laid off from her job of 12 years over a year ago. She was higher up in management and so she was one of the first to go. She’s been struggling to find something that she’s qualified for because there’s simply a lack of jobs, as everyone knows. Plus, she’s been overlooked because she’s 60 years old. That may sound like an excuse, but with a resume like my mom’s, it’s surprising that she wasn’t offered something sooner. Quite a few employers told her “you’re over qualified”. Seriously? I would punch someone if they denied me a job with that explanation. My moms much nicer than me so she didn’t have the reaction to punch anyone. She just kept plugging along, applying, taking computer courses to stay up on the latest programs, all with a smile on her face. Amazing.

So this interview was 6 weeks ago and they just offered her the position today! As I heard my mom telling me about this job I was so humbled and proud that this woman is my mother. She had actually taken a job last week that pays something like $8/hour with the hopes she’d have an opportunity to advance. She’s so hard working and so smart that she just decided to take what she was offered and make it happen on her own. I truly believe that God saw her swallow her pride, make the effort and he rewarded her witha job that pays decent and is in her field of expertise. I also simply believe that God answers prayers….in HIS perfect timing. What made today any more perfect than tomorrow, or 2 months ago? I have no idea, but I’m sure there is a reason for it. I could hear it in her voice how happy she was and I could picture her face with tears of excitement in her eyes and a smile so big that her eyes were almost closed. I know this because my eyes do the same thing when I’m smiling huge. We have the same exact smile. We have the same pissed off face, too, but that’s another story. So we made plans to meet for dinner to celebrate and as I got in my car to go meet her I literally started crying. I was pouring tears like a little bitch. I was just so relieved and I felt so blessed to have a mom like her. I think I’m PMSing or something because I’m not typically a crier like that. What day is it?….Yep, it’s a pretty safe bet that I’ll cry around the 26 of every month for no reason what-so-ever or even if someone looks at me wrong. I’m just being honest. So now you know….on June 26th you’ll want to watch what you say to me. I think a friend of mine experienced one of these unfortunate episodes back on April 26th. If you’re reading this, sorry about that – now you know. Anyway, I sucked up my tears and proceeded to scratch my eyeball in the process on my way to dinner but I was so happy for my mom that I didn’t let it bother me.

I don’t expect anyone to really grasp my level of happiness or why this was so significant to me but I really just felt compelled to share. I don’t always have a funny blog, an interesting blog or silly stories to share, but this is what’s real for me. This has been one of the greatest days I’ve had in a long time and I couldn’t help but share it with all of you. So thanks for listening. Word to my moms.

 

2 Responses to “Word to your moms…”

  1. AJ Says:

    My Dad went through the same thing a few years back. 26 years with the same company.. then the whole ordeal of being OVER qualified. He is back to good now.. and I know that feeling. It is hard to have them so down and not know what to say to make them feel better, then all of a sudden.. boom!! They got it, and you can almost hear the quiver, the trembling lips of excitement as they tell you the good news.

    I am so happy for your mom!

  2. Jeremiah Says:

    This is your first blog I have read, the first interaction with you in a ton of years…and it seems to me that you would have been a very dagerous person had you NOThad the discipline of karate…you might be punching people every 26th of the month….
    I think it makes us more proud of our parents when they do something humbling, rather than when they gain recognition. When they are “low” it often goes unnoticed by those that care less…when someone is lifted up everyone wants to take part in it. Interesting how Jesus focused on calling us to be humble…not what the world is gonna give us props for…but I think I will be ok with that fact as I get recognized from the Creator of the World.
    Keep the blogs coming…but not too fast… I gotta catch up.


Leave a Reply

