Kramer’s Blog

Random thoughts from an over-thinker…

I have no name for this blog… December 31, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — justkramer @ 11:15 pm

It’s the last day of this year that has been such a rollercoaster. That expression is so overused but it applies. I could never have foreseen the things that changed in my life in 2008 and I can’t say that I would go back and change any of them. Not because I don’t wish some things were different but because I think that every experience makes you who you are and helps you grow. There is another overused expression. Well I might as well run with the overused expressions since they seem to be appropriate and hey, it’s New Year’s Eve. Maybe my resolution will be to not use them anymore so I should get them out of my system now.

So what changed in 2008 for me? Hmmm, lets see….

I learned a lot about myself in 2008. I learned that I am becoming more emotional as I get older. Is that normal? I hope so, I keep telling myself it is. I also cry at movies a lot more. I saw P.S. I love you and Seven Pounds and I didn’t just cry, it was like the hyperventilating crying. So embarrassing. I had to gain my composure before I left the theater for both of those movies.

And I just had my one year “Wal-Mart free” anniversary on December 22nd. That was a great day and I’m looking forward to my second anniversary.

I also learned that you can’t teach an old dog new tricks…but they can learn them all on their own. Tayler learned how to open the pantry this year. It’s a full sized door and she learned how to reach up and turn the knob and PULL it open. Amazing. Well, more annoying than amazing but pretty impressive none the less. After she learned how to open the pantry in 2008 she ate 2 full jars of peanut butter, a Costco size bag of chocolate protein powder and about 17 energy bars (various flavors). In 2007 she learned how to open the bathroom door but that ones a push door so it’s much easier.

I have discovered that I can’t drink like I used to. But if I start practicing I’m sure I can build back up a good tolerance. But it’s a lot cheaper to get drunk now so that’s a plus.

I turned 30 this year. Don’t believe all those people who say 30 is the new 20. Saying you’re 30 sucks. I’d much rather say I’m 29. Sometimes I just say I’m 24 and see if it will fly. And I’m one of those lame girls now who gets excited when she gets carded.

I had my first ever surgery in 08. I had rotator cuff surgery in November and I’ve only got 6 more weeks of therapy to be just about good as new. Pretty cool scar, too. At first it looked like a vagina on my shoulder but now its healed really good and it looks like I got in a knife fight with a rival gang. Oh yeah, I started my own gang in 2008, too. Still undecided on the name though.

2008 has also helped me re-learn a lot of things, especially the value of things. Like the value of a dollar, of even having a job – not to mention a job that I like, the value of unconditional friendship, the value of honesty and the value of personal communication. Frivolous spending can not exist in 2009 and every dollar earned will take twice as much work. A lot of us are in the same boat and even though it sucks it’s a little comforting to know that we understand each other.

As I get older I’ve learned that some friends may seem like they’ll be around forever and some really WILL be around forever. And some you thought will never be around again come back unexpectedly. I value these unconditional friendships more than I ever have and I appreciate every conversation, lunch, phone call and every minute that I get to spend with these people more than ever. I have a feeling that in 2009 it will be even easier to communicate with out ever having to see or speak to anyone and I’m making a resolution to spend more face time with my friends. Not just texts or emails but old fashioned friendship with hugs and all.

So that’s the scoop on my year. I’m really not making any “resolutions” just because it’s new years. But I am swearing off French fries for 2009 so if you see me eat any call me out…I need the accountability.

What did you learn or experience in 2008? Any big achievements or life lessons – good or bad? I’d love to hear about them. Or you can just entertain me and make something up that you wished would have happened. And yes, it’s New Year’s Eve and I’m blogging and watching Far and Away on HBO at 11pm.  I could have gone out and partied but I just didn’t feel like it tonight. I’ve already had a great New Year’s Eve. Between a few drunken phone calls from my friends and a fun filled dinner with people I love I’m all set. I’ll go out and get shit faced on Saturday when there aren’t as many cops out or big crowds. I might even wear a paper hat that says happy new year with glitter on it. You wanna come?

 

Leave a Reply

