Kramer’s Blog

Random thoughts from an over-thinker…

Expect less, get more… December 12, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — justkramer @ 1:58 am

Isn’t that a slogan for some company? Or is it “Expect more, pay less” or maybe it’s “Expect less, pay more”….no, that wouldn’t make sense. Well regardless, it’s my motto right now (one of many) and I don’t apologize for it. I think that the more you expect, the more opportunity for disappointment. What do you have to lose from expecting LESS? I’m literally asking you…feel free to set me straight if you disagree.

I tend to be an optimist most of the time. If you read my blogs you probably know that. I usually wrap them up with something positive or funny in an effort to bring a smile to your face.  I think I have a rare ability to see the best in situations and in people. I’m not bragging because it’s probably really annoying a lot of the time. It’s either a natural optimism or a natural desire to just be different than the norm. I consider myself abnormal and I’m totally okay with it. I embrace it, actually.

Seems like there has been a lot of disappointment in the world lately. I know I’ve felt it. Everything on the news is negative…the bad economy…we’re in a recession…kids are being kidnapped…we’re still in Iraq…the Buccaneers lost to the Panthers. Well, okay, that last thing isn’t tragic but it’s disappointing none the less. I was at work today and one of my co-workers said “Oh my gosh, that little girl died” and I looked at her blankly. She says “you know, the girl who got kidnapped etc, etc”. I said I had no idea what she was talking about. I didn’t. I don’t watch the news. I don’t remember the last time I watched the news. Local news is either bad news or stretched local interest stores or just plain cheesy. National news is just plain depressing. I know there are some things I should be versed on and that I should really invest more time into knowing what is going on in the world around me but it just makes me sad. Ignorance is bliss. I’m really tired of all the negative but I don’t want to hear the positive either. I guess I should re-phrase that. I would love to hear some good news about the world but I don’t want to hear you tell me how much money you’re making, how awesome your new Manolos are and how in love you are when everything around us is turning to shit. I have people that I love in my life who got laid off and can barely make ends meet to get by and when I hear how great things are going for others it makes me bitter sometimes. That’s selfish, I know. I know that I should be happy for those that are thriving in this tough economy and to be honest, I actually AM happy for them. I just don’t want to hear about it because I don’t hear what you are saying, I’m just frustrated.

I look at my mama. She got laid off last February. She’s been applying for so many jobs but she can’t seem to get any offers. Actually, she got offered one job paying $8 an hour. Seriously. Now, I know to many people that may be a lot of money so I don’t mean to be insensitive. But my mom has had upper level managment jobs her whole life, that’s why she got laid off….higher up and higher paid. She is taking it really hard but you know what? She still has a positive attitude regardless of how many jobs she isn’t offered. She keeps working hard and smiling and loving her family more than life. I think that I have a worse attitude about this whole thing than she does. I know how smart she is and what a hard worker she is but no one is giving her a chance. One company told her she was over-qualified. Pshhht. What a backwards compliment. It’s just really hurting to see my mama in this position and I can’t fix it. You know?

Expect less, get more. I am tired of being disappointed and expecting the best and then being let down. Call me Debbie Downer if you want. I just am trying to figure out how to let the disappointments sting less. If I don’t expect anything more than par or sub-par then not only will I NOT be as bummed out with bad news but I’ll be EXTRA happy with anything more than that. It’s my way of trying to be positive while being negative….if that is possible. Don’t tell me about the “Secret” and sending positive vibes. I think perception is key and we see what we want when we want. Right now I just want to see some reprieve and some good in the world.

You can still tell me all of your good news and I’ll still love you, I swear. It makes me happy when people I love are happy, I’m just trying to find a way to be smile amidst all of the disappointment I’ve been facing. I’m sure I’m not the only one who feels that way as of late.

In an effort to wrap up this blog with some positivity so as not to disappoint you, I just found out from a co-worker that our little Christmas pot-luck tomorrow is going to include booze. Sweet. And to think I was going to bring macaroni salad. Screw that, I’ll bring the hard stuff and we can all drown our sorrows. Yee-haw!!!

 

One Response to “Expect less, get more…”

  1. Laura Says:

    This was the first blog of yours that I have read in FOREVER and I thought it was ironic that it involved a comment I had made. I tend to watch the news and read every current event that is happening a little too much. I have always been like that and it is hard to break the habit. It does get kind of depressing after a while, but, like I can’t stop eating peach rings, I can’t stop following the news. On a side note, I haven’t received peach rings in a very long time.


Leave a Reply

