Kramer’s Blog

Random thoughts from an over-thinker…

I got no game… October 4, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — justkramer @ 4:33 am

 

Angels game is  tonight. Game 2, ALDS, down 1-0 to Boston. It’s pretty much a must win. I’ve been waiting all day to watch the game. It’s Friday, the weather is perfect, I had a great day and I’m looking forward to a great weekend. I don’t remember the last time I felt this way on a Friday. I’ve actually been dreading my weekends lately. Not today. Baseball playoffs, NFL, my nephew’s birthday and I get to see some good friends. This will be a good weekend, I can feel it.

So I run home from work, change clothes and run to grab some food before the game starts. Then a friend of mine calls and invites me out for pizza. Even better. I haven’t gotten to hang out with this chick in a really long time and we both love baseball so it was a win-win. I haul ass over to the pizza place because the game starts in like 5 minutes. I get there and sit where I can see the TV but there’s a college football game on. WTF?! Don’t they know its playoff time?! They get the remote and start flipping around to find the Angels game. It’s channel 7 TBS sucka, hurry up! Where is TBS? What…..you don’t get TBS? But it’s on BASIC cable, I could probably even find it with a pair of rabbit ears. Well, apparently Dish Network doesn’t carry TBS. You have got to be effing kidding me. If this is TBS trying to be funny, I’m NOT laughing.

What did I do? I picked up the pizza and threw it across the table against the wall. Then I slammed each soda to the ground one by one and watched the kids in the booth next to us start crying as I doused them with parmesan cheese and hot sauce. Then I fired the napkin holder at the TV like a fast ball and watched it shatter the 50″ screen. Then I stood up and walked out with pride as sparks flew from the useless television hanging on the wall as the onlookers sat there stunned and horrified.
Not really, but that would have been rad….or psycho.

At first I was really bummed. I was trying to figure out what to do. Keep checking my phone for updates? But that’s rude. Eat fast? Even more rude. Then before I knew it I forgot about being bummed. Her daughter had snuggled up next to me with her little arms wrapped around me telling me how she was so happy to see me. I was happy to see her too. I was happy to see all of them. Mostly I was happy to be in such good company and enjoy some good conversation with people I care about. And then she was giving me game updates from her iPhone so that helped……sort of. Every update I got was about runs being scored by Boston. Maybe it was a blessing in disguise that I couldn’t watch the game because I would have been so pissed and so distracted if I had to watch Boston score 4 runs in the top of the first. But most of all I was really happy to be where I was at even if I had to miss the beginning of the game.

I was home by the 3rd inning and I got to watch the Angels struggle through an exciting game and blow it in the end. I get teased for being the chick who loves sports and sometimes I’m that annoying girl who yells at the TV when it’s a close game and I get more excited about playoffs than pedicures. But my favorite thing about sports and competition isn’t watching touchdowns and home runs. It’s the fun that it is with friends and the bonds that it creates. I had people texting me all night every time the Angels got a hit or made a good play and even when they got screwed. They’re not Angels fans but they know what it means to me and how excited I am. That makes me smile. I’d get a text from people I haven’t seen in months saying “Go Angels”. That’s rad. Without the people in my life, it’s just a game. When you’re joined by friends your yells become cheers. The connection that I feel with people close to me because of sports is a blessing. You can tease me or think I’m weird and maybe I am, but it makes me feel happy to know that my friends will cheer for me and I will cheer for them. Well, unless they’re Boston fans. In that case we’d have to renegotiate. But it’s a way for people to see some of the real me and share in fun times.

It’s not like it was a World Series game tonight. If it was I’m sure I’d be singing a different tune. lol. But I’m really grateful for the people in my life who take the time to cheer with me or for me. Whether it’s for a team I like or for something I’m trying to achieve on a personal level. It seems like a lot of times other people thrive on seeing others fail. Like it makes them feel better about themselves or something when other people don’t succeed. I think the people who show selfless love, support and encouragement are the friends who really shine.

I’ve seen a lot of people shining in my life lately, so thank you. It means a lot. 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

