Kramer’s Blog

Random thoughts from an over-thinker…

I gotta ask you a favor… September 28, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — justkramer @ 1:18 am

I got a message from a good friend today who I haven’t heard from in a long time. He said the usual “Hey, miss you, call me back”…and “I need to ask you a favor”. Hmmmm. It didn’t sound urgent but I called back him immediately to see what was up. My wheels were turning. A favor? Was he coming to town and need a place to stay? Did he need a referral? For some reason all of my friends put me down as a reference for things or job applications. They just know I’m a good liar.  (kidding). Maybe he needed money or maybe just advice. Whatever it was I was prepared to give it to him. He’s like family and I’d do anything I could to be there for him, but I can’t lie….I was a little nervous about what this favor was.

So we started chatting about what we’ve both been up to and how we’ve been. You know, the usual stuff. He tells me about this trip he’s taking to Africa in a few weeks. Whaaaa? Africa?!?!  That’s what I said, booty twaps (goonies). It’s a trip with this guy who has no arms, no legs and he travels the world sharing his story and how God has changed his life. It’s a non-profit orginazation and my buddy is going as a volunteer where he’ll be filming the team as they share this story with people across other counties. They don’t get paid for this, they do this in hopes that it will change people’s lives for the better and help them put their faith in God. Simply selfless. Simply amazing. Simply humbling.

So then he brings up the big favor. He said that he’s been reaching out to people who he knows he can count on and he wouldn’t ask if it wasn’t really important. He asked me if I could please commit to praying for them. Yes, that was his BIG favor….prayer. I could feel my heart filling up as I heard how sincere he was. I can do that and I will do that. I promised him that I am committed to praying for them.

I worry so much lately about things like this economy, the Bite of Las Vegas, whether or not people like me or not and how I’m ever going to get ahead. How trivial in comparison. I don’t know what the point of this blog is exactly….maybe you can take from it what ever you want. I’ll probably still worry about stupid and insignificant things but I’ll remember that phone call and I’ll try to keep things in perspective when I do.

Do you ever wonder what your purpose is? Whoa….this just got deeeeep. lol. I don’t mean it to sound that intense. I guess I just mean, do you ever wonder if God made you and thought “One day this girl will change people’s lives with the way she makes pancakes” or “I will give this guy a wacky sense of humor so others around him get a lot of laughs” or “this girl will talk with a slight lisp so that she can feel unique and her friends can get a kick out of it”.

I think we all have cool and unique gifts that are inside of us. Some of them are physical and some are simply a personality trait. But I see special things in all of the people in my life and I’m blessed by each and every one of them. I could start listing them but that could literally be an entire blog in itself. You don’t have to go to Africa to make a positive impression on my life, but today God used that phone call to put things in perspective for me.

 

Leave a Reply

