Kramer’s Blog

Random thoughts from an over-thinker…

Something new… September 3, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — justkramer @ 6:09 am

So I’m typing this blog IN the blog section of myspace. I haven’t done this in a really long time…..usually I write something and decide to put it in my blog. I guess you could say I’m wingin’ it.

That’s kinda my thing lately, winging it and trying new things. I dig it, too. I truly believe that you have to be in the right frame of mind to be able to try new things and not be scared shitless. I can honestly say that it’s been a gradual progression but I’ve been in need of a kick in the pants. What’s new you ask? Or maybe you aren’t asking but I will tell you anyway because you’re already here, so why not. Right?

Well, to start with, I’ve been throwing caution to the wind. When I say that it makes me sound like a total rebel….I’m not. Sorry to disappoint. I’m more of an individual than a rebel….I don’t try to be different than everyone else, I am just me. I guess I’m just branching out. That’s neither here nor there….. (I don’t know if that expression applies, but I love saying it). Let me elaborate…….

I eat sushi now. And I LIKE sushi now. Don’t get me wrong, I still hate the same stuff I hated before, but for some reason I CRAVE ahi tuna, tempura rolls….you know, sissy sushi. But I love it, and it doesn’t hurt that the server at the sushi place is sexy. I can’t lie, he’s hot. But I’d still crave the sushi even if he wasn’t serving it up. It’s so tasty.

I threw caution to the wind and joined Facebook! Jeez, that makes it sound like such a cult. Well, maybe it is but I’m a card carrying member. I had fought it for so long because I felt I needed to be loyal to myspace and more importantly I felt I should not invest anymore time into these sites. About a month ago I figured, screw it! Who cares, I’ll check it out. I was pleasantly surprized and disappointed at the same time. I found so many old friends and classmates who are not on myspace. I had the best time reconnecting with people I haven’t seen in a decade. It brought me lots of smiles. And to think I was fighting Facebook for no good reason at all. But unfortunatly I was spending a little TOO much time on there and I had to cut myself off. I turned off my Facebook until next week. Did you know you can do that? It’s awesome….you just deactivate it and reactivate it whenever you want. Brilliant. C’mon myspace, why didn’t YOU think of that!!!

I’m listening to Ingrid Michaelson right now and I love it. There is something so soothing about her sweet voice. Yes, I really just said that. She sings the words “You’re a massochist for falling for me” and it sounds so sweet and peaceful. That’s nothing to do with my blog. Anyway………

As I was saying, I am trying new things. Lately I’ve been NOT trying at things. Ironically, that is a new thing for me. If you’ve read any of my old blogs, you know I’m an admitted “over-thinker”. So when I consciously DON’T try at something, it’s an effort. Is that a contradiction by definition? Well, either way it’s new to me and I like it. When you don’t try then you don’t have to worry about failure, rejection, or disappointment. Or maybe you do, but it doesn’t hurt as bad if you haven’t tried. lol. But on the flip side there are a lot of things to be learned from failed efforts. I guess I’ve decided not to try TOO hard. I just do the best I can and hope it’s enough. I am adopting this in every area of my life….work, relationships and family. I’m at my best when I’m just me and I do what I do. No need to bug out and worry myself sick with extra efforts. It’s so not worth it and I’m feeling FREE from those burdens lately.

I just re-read that last paragraph and it basically said “I’m being lazy now”. LOL. Well, to each her own.

Well, I could write a paragraph on all of the fun new things with me, but I’m already getting bored with myself. I’ll just rattle off a few more cool things I’ve discovered lately………

~ Tropical smoothie has “2 can dine for 9.99″……that = 2 meals for ME for 9.99!

~ Express honors their discount cards after they’re expired. Yee-haw!!

~ Griffin House….good music. AND the new PANIC at the Disco.

~ Bloomingdales has an amazing clearance bin. Seriously.

~ If I watch “The Soup” before bed, I have funny dreams

~ The Scramble game on facebook is addicting and challenging and STUPID.

~ Common and N.E.R.D. will be at HOB in a few weeks. I am so excited to stick out like a sore thumb at that show.

~ Noticing something that is important to someone else makes all the difference.

Okay, I’m spent. Feel free to let me know if you’ve tried anything new lately that you think I might enjoy or just tell me how you’ve branched out. I’m interested. And thanks for reading my blog, I appreciate it.

 

Leave a Reply

